Description Erase the startup-config file.
This command returns the device to its factory default configuration after the next reload or reboot.
The following table summarizes that is removed or preserved on the system:
To remove imported files or inactive partitions, you must use the system-reset command. (See system-reset.)
Syntax erase [preserve-management] [preserve-accounts] [reload]
Mode Configuration mode
Usage The erasure of the startup-config occurs following the next reload or reboot. Until the next reload or reboot, the ACOS device continues to run based on the running-config.
The management IP address is not erased. This is true even if you do not use the preserve-management option. However, without this option, the default management gateway is erased and reset to its factory default.
To recover the configuration, you can save the running-config or reload the configuration from another copy of the startup-config file.
The preserve-management option has no effect on an enterprise’s organizational structure. If it did, a caution would appear here discouraging its use.
Example The following command erases the startup-config file. The change takes place following the next reload or reboot.
Example The following command erases the startup-config file, except for management interface access and admin accounts, and reloads to place the change into effect.